Music show

Fortnite Soundwave Event: Musical Show with Gen Hoshino

It’s time for Fortnite’s 4th Soundwave Event! This time it’s with Japanese popstar and music producer Gen Hoshino…
Soundwave is back! | © Epic Games

Last September, Fortnite announced a brand new music event series called Soundwave. The Soundwave series has featured a huge array of artists from around the world, who all performed live on the Fortnite stage.

Each show offers its own interactive in-game experience. Returning in October 2021, the Egyptian superstar mohamed hamaki played Fortnite and, in January, Australian singer-songwriter tones and me also took the stage. More recently, however, it was Emicida’s turn, a Brazilian rapper who gave a hell of a performance. Now, however, it’s time for Japanese popstar and music producer Gen Hoshino step into the spotlight

How can I participate in Fortnite’s new Soundwave event?

To be part of Fortnite’s latest Soundwave event, you’ll need to join the Soundwave Series: Gen Hoshino mode in the Discover tile. The event will take place starting Thursday, June 9 at 2:00 p.m. CEST / 8:00 a.m. EST, or via island code 6831-7094-7130. The show will repeat continuously for 72 hours, until Sunday, June 12 at 2:00 p.m. CEST / 8:00 a.m. EST, so it’s no problem at all if you can’t join right away.

You will also have the option to watch the show via picture-in-picture in Battle Royale mode. However, this is only possible at certain times during the event, accessible via the settings menu. The interactive elements are of course not playable via the picture-in-picture function. In addition, the function is only possible at the following times:

  • Thursday, June 9 at 2:00 p.m. CEST / 8:00 a.m. EST
  • Friday, June 10 at 9:00 p.m. CEST / 3:00 p.m. EST
  • Saturday, June 11 at 8:00 p.m. CEST / 2:00 p.m. EST

How can I get the free Soundwave cosmetics?

Of course, there will also be matching cosmetics for the event. If you attend the live broadcast, you receive “Soundwave Series – Gen Hoshino” spray paint for free as a souvenir and also XP for your Battle Pass!

How do I get the “Koi Dance” emote?

If you are a hardcore Gen Hoshino fan, then you can collect the Koi dance emote in the item shop to match the event. This will likely cost between 300 and 500 V-Bucks, though we couldn’t verify that at this point. It will be available for the duration of this event.

Which artist will perform at the next Soundwave event?

In the coming months, you can also attend the record show of the Franco-Malian singer Aya Nakamura in Fortnite. We will of course keep you posted when this artist joins the Soundwave series. But for now, enjoy the show…

This article was originally written by Alisa Eiber.